Deleting and Inactivating Users

Brainshark Company Administrators are authorized to disable, delete, and inactivate users.

 

Inactivating a user account keeps their profile in your account, but renders their login credentials "inactive" meaning they cannot log in. 

 

Disabling a user account removes their profile from the Brainshark account, but leaves their historical information in the system for reporting.

 

Deleting a user account removes their profile from your Brainshark account and removes all historical information relating to that user account. This action is a GDPR compliant removal of user data.

 

To inactivate a user:

  1. Go to Administration
  2. Select Manage Users
  3. Select the user you want to make inactive 
  4. Click on Edit Profile
  5. On the bottom of the Profile page there is a check box that says "User is active"
  6. Deselect the box
  7. Click Submit

Note: The user will be removed from any groups and their folder permissions will be removed as part of their inactivation.

To disable a user:

  1. Go to Administration
  2. Click on Manage Users
  3. Search the user you wish to disable
  4. Click on the Last Name of the user
  5. Choose Disable from the drop down menu
  6. Select Disable

Note: If the user is the owner of any content it will need to be reassigned to another user or deleted before the user can be removed.

To delete a user:

  1. Go to Administration
  2. Click on Manage Users
  3. Search the user you wish to delete
  4. Click on the Last Name of the user
  5. Choose Disable from the drop down menu
  6. Reassign/delete any content and click disable
  7. On the next screen, select delete
  8. Assign enrollments, activities, and reviews to a new user
  9. Confirm the delete

If the user is an author and they have existing presentations, you will be prompted to delete those presentations or move them to a new author.  You cannot delete a user that has existing presentations. With this option you will need to transfer any enrollments, coaching activity data, and coaching reviews to another user or account.

We recommend creating a fake account or "dummy" account to apply all enrollments, coaching activities, and coaching reviews to when deleting accounts. 

Note: Users deleted accidentally cannot be restored - they will need to be added as new users in the account.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments