Adding or Updating Users: Completing a Simplified Bulk Upload Spreadsheet

Comments

4 comments

  • Marjorie Webb

    Thank you for the new function and the new instructions! The Bulk Upload process is powerful and an invaluable asset, but requires thought and careful attention. Having these clear directions is important. One thing that isn't there that would help is to address what to do for the Password field when you use SSO and there are no passwords. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Grant Farrell

    Hi Marjorie!

    We are very excited about this simplified Bulk Upload Spreadsheet!

    Although your organization uses SSO to authenticate into Brainshark, you will still need to include a password that meets your site's password requirements (if set in Administration).  It will not be used but is required for the spreadsheet to process successfully.

    If adding a new user, please be sure to include any necessary SSO fields, such as SSOKey and UCI (Unique Company Identifier).

    Thank you!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Marjorie Webb

    Thanks for the response, Grant! Just to clarify: would we put the SSOKey into the Password field for existing and new users, then for new users add an SSOKey field?

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Customer Community

    The best use case for this new action is for CAdmins who download files from their internal company site (HRIS) with hundreds of users.  Without figuring out who is a new user and who is an existing user, CAdmins complete the six required fields.  If they are new users (SSO or non SSO), the spreadsheet needs a password. If they are existing users (SSO or non SSO), they do not need a password (PW) but it is easier for a CAdmin to just populate that whole column with a password value. Existing PWs in Brainshark will not be overridden unless you tell Support to override them. (The override is not the usual process for a bulk upload.)

    For SSO, the SSOKey and UCI Columns are not required.  If there are values for existing users and you leave them blank, they will not be overridden. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.